Abby Kitty's Blog

Just another Edublogs site

Rocks and Minerals – self directed science

on June 15, 2023

Hello, It’s Abbykitty and today I will discuss rock and minerals.

So in this blog, I will write up on my science focus Rocks and Minerals. For this science focus, I am making a crystal mine here is my research work on the rocks and minerals I chose not the ones I will be growing.

Being ready to learn 

Crystal and minerals mine 

 

Magnetite

 

It has a hardness of 5-6. Its empirical formula is Fe3O4.   You can find it in the sand at beaches. This mineral sand can be found in Hong Kong South Eastern China, California beaches, and the West coast of the North Island of New Zealand. 

 

Quartz 

 

This crystal has a hardness of 7-7.5 Its formula is SIO2—the formula SIO2 is made of silicon dioxide. Quartz can be Clear, light pink called rose Quartz, Purple called Amethyst, black Quartz called smoky quartz, and more. The most common places to find Quartz are in the Alps, Minas Gerais, Madagascar, Brazil, and Japan.

 

Red Marble 

 

The hardness of a red marble is 3-4. Its empirical formula is caCO3. You can find red marble in the middle east, but Italy can also have it. They are then one colour of red marble like pink, black, brown,  yellow, green and so much more.

 

Molybdenite 

The molybdenite hardness is 1-2. Its empirical formula is MoS2. You can find this mineral in New Mexico and climax mine in Colorado. You can find it in other places too. Molybdenite is a bluish-grey colour.

 

Sphalerite 

The hardness of sphalerite is 3.5-4. Its formula is Znfe. You can find sphalerite in North Africa, Poland Belgium. 

 

Graphite 

The hardness of graphite is 1-2. It is on the bottom of the Mohs scale. The formula is c because it is only made of carbon. Turkey,  China, and Brazil have to most graphite.

Setting learning goals 

This is my plan for my self-directed science

 

Here is how M.s M would assess me.

 

This is my plan for the projects

 

Engaging in the learning process

Here are some photos of me and my thought partner building our Projects

Here is me cutting some cardboard

 

 

this is my and my thought partners’ project.

 

This is inside my rock mine.

 

 

 

I enjoyed my project and if you noticed I have added a heading that describes The photos.

Here is a tour of our museum

 

Hope you like it

Evaluating the learning 

 

There was not much I did wrong or let’s say not focused. This was a delightful project and I had a lot of fun making this project.  One thing I Could have done better was add more information in the seven paragraphs above on many different rocks and minerals.

 

Bye, I’ll see you in my next blog post!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar